Get information that is essential for all newcomers to Canada


The City of Greater Sudbury was formed on January 1, 2001 when the towns and cities which comprised the former Regional Municipality of Sudbury (Sudbury, Capreol, Nickel Centre, Onaping Falls, Rayside-Balfour, Valley East and Walden) were amalgamated.

Greater Sudbury is located 390 kilometers north of Toronto and 483 kilometres west of Ottawa.  It features plenty of open space, freshwater lakes, pristine forests and woodlands, recreational facilities and real estate opportunities. The city is also one of the largest municipalities, by area, in Canada with a low population density of 49.3 people per square kilometre. As such, it offers a unique Northern lifestyle and superb quality of life like no other.

The City of Greater Sudbury is governed by a 13-member elected body consisting of a Mayor and 12 City

Councillors. The Council is entrusted with the responsibility of making important decisions about policies and programs

For more information on Sudbury, visit the municipal immigration portal.